1. K-State home
  2. »Plant Pathology
  3. »People
  4. »Faculty

Department of Plant Pathology

Plantpath People Directory

Current Faculty 

 

   
 Eduard_Akhunov

Akhunov, Eduard

eakhunov@ksu.edu

Professor

Wheat genome diversity and evolution. Disease resistance genes. Genetic and genomic tools and resources for wheat improvement.

 Alina_Akhunova

Akhunova, Alina

akhunova@ksu.edu

Research Associate Professor, Director-Integrated Genomics Facility

Genomics, molecular biology, gene expression.

 David Cook

Cook, David

decook@ksu.edu

Assistant Professor

Molecular Plant-Microbe Interactions, Chromatin Dynamics, Technology applications

 Christian Cruz

Cruz, Christian

ccruz@ksu.edu

Research Assistant Professor

Identify sources of resistance for wheat blast and crop Biosecurity

 Tatiana Danilova

Danilova, Tatiana

tatianad@ksu.edu

Research Assistant Professor

 

 Erick_DeWolf

De Wolf, Erick

dewolf1@ksu.edu

Professor

Wheat Extension. Development of disease management strategies for fungal diseases of wheat including Fusarium head blight, tan spot, leaf rust and stripe rust

Marty Draper

Draper, Marty

maddr@ksu.edu

Professor, Department Head
 Brnd_Friebe

Friebe, Bernd

friebe@ksu.edu

Research Professor

Cytogenetics, molecular cytogenetics and evolution of wheat. Transfer, cytogenetic identification, and characterization of wheat-alien translocations.

 Bikrum_Gill

Gill, Bikram S.

bsgill@ksu.edu

Distinguished Professor

Cytogenetics, molecular cytogenetics, and evolution of polyploid plant species. Crop plant genetics, pathology, and breeding.

 Doug_Jardine

Jardine, Doug

jardine@ksu.edu

Professor

Extension plant pathology for sorghum, soybeans, corn, and sunflower. Seedling disease management.

 Megan_Kennelly

Kennelly, Megan

kennelly@ksu.edu

Professor

Extension, diagnostics, and research for diseases of horticultural crops (vegetables, fruit, trees, flowers, and turfgrass).

Dal-Hoe Koo

Koo, Dal-Hoe

dkoo@ksu.edu

Research Assistant Professor

 

 John Leslie

Leslie, John

jfl@ksu.edu

Distinguished Professor

Biochemical, molecular, and population genetics of model and plant pathogenic fungi.

 Chris Little

Little, Chris

crlittle@ksu.edu

Associate Professor

Sorghum and soybean diseases. Seedling, root, stalk and seed diseases. Fungal pathogens of row crops.

 Sanzhen Liu

Liu, Sanzhen

liu3zhen@ksu.edu

Assistant Professor

Cloning and characterization of pathogen resistance and drought resistance genes. Assembly and annotation of plant and microbe genomes. 

 Kevin McClusky

McCluskey, Kevin

mccluskeyk@ksu.edu

Research Professor

Fungal genetics and genomics. Living collection best practices.

 Judy O'Mara

O'Mara, Judy

jomara@ksu.edu

Instructor, Director of KSU Plant Disease Diagnostic Laboratory

Plant disease diagnostics. Undergraduate teaching.

 Jesse Poland

Poland, Jesse

jpoland@ksu.edu

Associate Professor

Wheat genetics and germplasm improvement; marker technologies, association genetics and genomic selection for use in breeding. Resistance to wheat rusts.

 Jim Stack

Stack, Jim

jstack@ksu.edu

Professor, Director: Great Plains Diagnostic Network

Plant biosecurity. Plant disease diagnostics. Plant health-public health interface.

 Tim Todd

Todd, Timothy

nema@ksu.edu

Instructor

Strategies for durable resistance in soybean to Heterodera glycines. Nematode diseases in corn and wheat. Population and community ecology of soil nematodes.

 Richard Todd

Todd, Richard B.

rbtodd@ksu.edu

Associate Professor

Molecular genetics, genomics and cell biology of nitrogen utilization and metabolic gene regulation in the fungus Aspergillus nidulans.

 Chris Toomajian

Toomajian, Christopher

toomajia@ksu.edu

Associate Professor

Population genetics, molecular evolution, evolutionary genomics; plant and fungal genetics/genomics; bioinformatics.

 Harold Trick

Trick, Harold

hnt@ksu.edu

Professor

Plant molecular biology and genetic enhancement of crop plants for tolerance/resistance to abiotic and biotic stresses and value-added traits.

 Barbara Valent

Valent, Barbara

bvalent@ksu.edu

Distinguished Professor, Interdepartmental Genetics Program Chair

Effector biology and biotrophic strategies of Magnaporthe (Pyricularia) oryzae, causal agent of rice blast. Biology and management of wheat blast.

 

 

Adjunct Faculty 

 Bob Bowden Bowden, Bob Adjunct Professor rbowden@ksu.edu
 Justin Faris Faris, Justin Adjunct Professor justin.faris@ndsu.nodak.edu
 John Fellers Fellers, John P. Adjunct Assoc. Professor jfellers@ksu.edu
 Manjit Kang Kang, Manjit Adjunct Professor manjit5264@yahoo.com
 Yin-Won Lee Lee, Yin-Won Adjunct Professor lee2443@snu.ac.kr
 Brett Summerell Summerell, Brett Adjunct Professor brett.summerell@rbgsyd.nsw.gov.au
 Craig Webb Webb, Craig Adjunct Asst. Professor craig.a.webb@aphis.usda.gov

 

Emeritus Faculty 

 Name Email
Bill BockusBockus, WilliamEmeritus Facultybockus@ksu.edu
 Larry ClaflinClaflin, LarryEmeritus Facultyclaflin@ksu.edu
 Lowell JohnsonJohnson, LowellEmeritus Facultyljohnson@ksu.edu
 Clare NelsonNelson, James C. (Clare)Emeritus Facultyjcn@ksu.edu
 Fred SchwenkSchwenk, FredEmeritus Facultyfws@ksu.edu
 Don StutevilleStuteville, DonEmeritus Facultydstutevi@ksu.edu
 Frank WhiteWhite, FrankEmeritus Faculty

fwhite@ksu.edu