1. K-State home
  2. »Plant Pathology
  3. »People
  4. »Faculty

Department of Plant Pathology

Faculty Directory

Dr. Eduard Akhunov

Dr. Eduard Akhunov

Professor
eakhunov@ksu.edu
Wheat genome diversity and evolution. Disease resistance genes. Genetic and genomic tools and resources for wheat improvement.
Dr. Alina Akhunova

Dr. Alina Akhunova

Research Associate Professor, Director-Integrated Genomics Facility
akhunova@ksu.edu
Genomics, molecular biology, gene expression.
Myron Bruce

Dr. Myron Bruce

Research Assistant Professor
myronbruce@ksu.edu
Dr. David Cook

Dr. David Cook

Assistant Professor
decook@ksu.edu
Molecular Plant-Microbe Interactions, Chromatin Dynamics, Technology applications
Dr. Erick DeWolf

Dr. Erick DeWolf

Professor
dewolf1@ksu.edu
Wheat Extension. Development of disease management strategies for fungal diseases of wheat including Fusarium head blight, tan spot, leaf rust and stripe rust
Dr. Marty Draper

Dr. Marty Draper

Professor
maddr@ksu.edu
Dr. Bernd Friebe

Dr. Bernd Friebe

Research Professor
friebe@ksu.edu
Cytogenetics, molecular cytogenetics and evolution of wheat. Transfer, cytogenetic identification, and characterization of wheat-alien translocations.
Dr. Jagger Harvey

Dr. Jagger Harvey

Research Associate Professor
jjharvey@ksu.edu
Director of the Feed the Future Innovation Lab for the Reduction of Post-Harvest Loss, at Kansas State University.
Dr. Doug Jardine

Dr. Doug Jardine

Professor
jardine@ksu.edu
Extension plant pathology for sorghum, soybeans, corn, and sunflower. Seedling disease management.
Dr. Katherine Jordan

Dr. Katherine Jordan

Research Assistant Professor
kwjordan@ksu.edu
Dr. Megan Kennelly

Dr. Megan Kennelly

Professor, Interim Department Head
kennelly@ksu.edu
Extension, diagnostics, and research for diseases of horticultural crops (vegetables, fruit, trees, flowers, and turfgrass).
Dr. Dal-Hoe Koo

Dr. Dal-Hoe Koo

Research Assistant Professor
dkoo@ksu.edu
Dr. John Leslie

Dr. John Leslie

Distinguished Professor
jfl@ksu.edu
Biochemical, molecular, and population genetics of model and plant pathogenic fungi.
Dr. Chris Little

Dr. Chris Little

Professor
crlittle@ksu.edu
Sorghum and soybean diseases. Seedling, root, stalk and seed diseases. Fungal pathogens of row crops.
Dr. Sanzhen Liu

Dr. Sanzhen Liu

Assistant Professor
liu3zhen@ksu.edu
Cloning and characterization of pathogen resistance and drought resistance genes. Assembly and annotation of plant and microbe genomes.
Dr. Lucky Mehra

Dr. Lucky Mehra

Instructor
luckymehra@ksu.edu
Dr. Shahideh Nouri

Dr. Shahideh Nouri

Assistant Professor
shahidehnr@ksu.edu
Plant virology, virus-vector interactions, insect-specific viruses, virome, virus evolution, the development of new techniques to control viral infections
Dr. Judy O'Mara

Judy O'Mara

Instructor, Director of KSU Plant Disease Diagnostic Laboratory
jomara@ksu.edu
Plant disease diagnostics. Undergraduate teaching.
Dr. Jesse Poland

Dr. Jesse Poland

Associate Professor
jpoland@ksu.edu
Wheat genetics and germplasm improvement; marker technologies, association genetics and genomic selection for use in breeding. Resistance to wheat rusts.
Dr. Jessica Rupp

Dr. Jessica Rupp

Assistant Professor
jrupp@ksu.edu

Wheat pathology

Dr. Jim Stack

Dr. Jim Stack

Professor, Director: Great Plains Diagnostic Network
jstack@ksu.edu
Plant biosecurity. Plant disease diagnostics. Plant health-public health interface.
Dr. Bin Tian

Dr. Bin Tian

Research Assistant Professor
btian@ksu.edu
Dr. Richard Todd

Dr. Richard Todd

Associate Professor
rbtodd@ksu.edu
Molecular genetics, genomics and cell biology of nitrogen utilization and metabolic gene regulation in the fungus Aspergillus nidulans.
Dr. Timothy Todd

Timothy Todd

Instructor
nema@ksu.edu
Strategies for durable resistance in soybean to Heterodera glycines. Nematode diseases in corn and wheat. Population and community ecology of soil nematodes.
Dr. Christopher Toomaijin

Dr. Christopher Toomajian

Associate Professor
toomajia@ksu.edu
Population genetics, molecular evolution, evolutionary genomics; plant and fungal genetics/genomics; bioinformatics.
Dr. Harold Trick

Dr. Harold Trick

Professor
hnt@ksu.edu
Plant molecular biology and genetic enhancement of crop plants for tolerance/resistance to abiotic and biotic stresses and value-added traits.
Dr. Barbara Valent

Dr. Barbara Valent

Distinguished Professor, Interdepartmental Genetics Program Chair
bvalent@ksu.edu
Effector biology and biotrophic strategies of Magnaporthe (Pyricularia) oryzae, causal agent of rice blast. Biology and management of wheat blast.
Dr. Bill Bockus

Dr. William Bockus

Emeritus
bockus@ksu.edu
Dr. Bikram Gill

Dr. Bikram Gill

Emeritus
bsgill@ksu.edu
Dr. Lowell Johnson

Dr. Lowell Johnson

Emeritus
ljohnson@ksu.edu
Dr. James Nelson

Dr. James C. Nelson

Emeritus
jcn@ksu.edu
Dr. Fred Schwenk

Dr. Fred Schwenk

Emeritus
fws@ksu.edu
Dr. Don Stuteville

Dr. Don Stuteville

Emeritus
dstutevi@ksu.edu
Dr. Frank White

Dr. Frank White

Emeritus
fwhite@ksu.edu