1. K-State home
  2. »Plant Pathology
  3. »People
  4. »Faculty

Department of Plant Pathology

Faculty Directory

Dr. Eduard Akhunov

Dr. Eduard Akhunov

University Distinguished Professor
eakhunov@ksu.edu
Wheat genome diversity and evolution. Disease resistance genes. Genetic and genomic tools and resources for wheat improvement.
Dr. Alina Akhunova

Dr. Alina Akhunova

Research Professor, Director-Integrated Genomics Facility
akhunova@ksu.edu
Genomics, molecular biology, gene expression.
Kelsey Andersen

Dr. Kelsey Andersen Onofre

Assistant Professor
Extension and research for wheat and forage crops.
Myron Bruce

Dr. Myron Bruce

Research Assistant Professor
myronbruce@ksu.edu
Applied wheat pathology

Dr. David Cook

Dr. David Cook

Assistant Professor
decook@ksu.edu
Molecular Plant-Microbe Interactions, Chromatin Dynamics, Technology applications
Jared Crain

Dr. Jared Crain

Research Assistant Professor

Genomic selection efforts in intermediate wheatgrass. New genomic and phenomic tools in perennial crop breeding.

 
Giovana Cruppe

Dr. Giovana Cruppe

Research Assistant Professor
Wheat blast research
Dr. Erick DeWolf

Dr. Erick DeWolf

Professor
dewolf1@ksu.edu
Plant disease epidemiology and ecology. Development of disease management strategies for fungal diseases of wheat including Fusarium head blight, tan spot, leaf rust and stripe rust
Dr. Marty Draper

Dr. Marty Draper

Professor and Associate Dean for Research, College of Agriculture 
maddr@ksu.edu
Dr. Bernd Friebe

Dr. Bernd Friebe

Research Professor
friebe@ksu.edu
Cytogenetics, molecular cytogenetics and evolution of wheat. Transfer, cytogenetic identification, and characterization of wheat-alien translocations.
Dr. Jagger Harvey

Dr. Jagger Harvey

Research Associate Professor
jjharvey@ksu.edu
Director of the Feed the Future Innovation Lab for the Reduction of Post-Harvest Loss, at Kansas State University.
Dr. Megan Kennelly

Dr. Megan Kennelly

Professor, Department Head
kennelly@ksu.edu
Extension, diagnostics, and research for diseases of horticultural crops (vegetables, fruit, trees, flowers, and turfgrass).
Dr. Dal-Hoe Koo

Dr. Dal-Hoe Koo

Research Assistant Professor
dkoo@ksu.edu
Wheat cytogenetics

Dr. John Leslie

Dr. John Leslie

University Distinguished Professor
jfl@ksu.edu
Biochemical, molecular, and population genetics of model and plant pathogenic fungi.
Dr. Chris Little

Dr. Chris Little

Professor
crlittle@ksu.edu
Sorghum, soybean, and cotton diseases. Seedling, root, stalk and seed diseases. Fungal pathogens of row crops.
Dr. Sanzhen Liu

Dr. Sanzhen Liu

Associate Professor
liu3zhen@ksu.edu
Cloning and characterization of pathogen resistance and drought resistance genes. Assembly and annotation of plant and microbe genomes.
Dr. Shahideh Nouri

Dr. Shahideh Nouri

Assistant Professor
shahidehnr@ksu.edu
Plant virology, virus-vector interactions, insect-specific viruses, virome, virus evolution, the development of new techniques to control viral infections
Dr. Judy O'Mara

Judy O'Mara

Instructor, Director of KSU Plant Disease Diagnostic Laboratory
jomara@ksu.edu
Plant disease diagnostics. Undergraduate teaching.
Trevor Rife

Dr. Trevor Rife

Research Assistant Professor

Modernization of plant breeding programs around the world by optimizing data collection, management, and analysis.

Dr. Jessica Rupp

Dr. Jessica Rupp

Assistant Professor
jrupp@ksu.edu

Wheat pathology

Dr. Jim Stack

Dr. Jim Stack

Professor, Director: Great Plains Diagnostic Network
jstack@ksu.edu
Plant biosecurity. Plant disease diagnostics. Plant health-public health interface.
Dr. Richard Todd

Dr. Richard Todd

Associate Professor
rbtodd@ksu.edu
Molecular genetics, genomics and cell biology of nitrogen utilization and metabolic gene regulation in the fungus Aspergillus nidulans.
Dr. Timothy Todd

Timothy Todd

Instructor
nema@ksu.edu
Strategies for durable resistance in soybean to Heterodera glycines. Nematode diseases in corn and wheat. Population and community ecology of soil nematodes.
Dr. Christopher Toomaijin

Dr. Christopher Toomajian

Associate Professor
toomajia@ksu.edu
Population genetics, molecular evolution, evolutionary genomics; plant and fungal genetics/genomics; bioinformatics.
Dr. Harold Trick

Dr. Harold Trick

Professor
hnt@ksu.edu
Plant molecular biology and genetic enhancement of crop plants for tolerance/resistance to abiotic and biotic stresses and value-added traits.
Dr. Barbara Valent

Dr. Barbara Valent

University Distinguished Professor, Interdepartmental Genetics Program Chair
bvalent@ksu.edu
Effector biology and biotrophic strategies of Magnaporthe (Pyricularia) oryzae, causal agent of rice blast. Biology and management of wheat blast.
Dr. Bill Bockus

Dr. William Bockus

Emeritus
bockus@ksu.edu
Dr. Bikram Gill

Dr. Bikram Gill

Emeritus University Distinguished Professor 
bsgill@ksu.edu
jardine

Dr. Doug Jardine

Emeritus

jardine@ksu.edu

Dr. Lowell Johnson

Dr. Lowell Johnson

Emeritus
ljohnson@ksu.edu
Dr. James Nelson

Dr. James C. Nelson

Emeritus
jcn@ksu.edu
Dr. Fred Schwenk

Dr. Fred Schwenk

Emeritus
fws@ksu.edu
Dr. Frank White

Dr. Frank White

Emeritus
fwhite@ksu.edu